Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3000+
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Annemasse, France
    Posts
    3,131

    Default Can dual screening impair my PC's performances ?

    Hey.

    So, I have two screens, a 1680*1xxx whatever, and a second one that has 1024*768.

    Does it has any influence on ingame performances ? I mean, will it lower my FPS, say, by 10, 20 ?
    STYRR CHIPATAMA
    [PWNOGRAPHY]

    France's finest


  2. #2
    1000+
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Nostalgia Land
    Posts
    1,576

    Default

    It will.
    Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

  3. #3
    2000+
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,303

    Default

    Unplug one while playing intensive games = win.

    I don't notice a big increase in FPS if I unplug my secondary screen though.

    muddymess

  4. #4
    3000+
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,527

    Default

    Yes, it will have an impact. How much depends on a lot of things. I think the latest ATI cards have better multi-screen performance than NVIDIA.

  5. #5
    19,000+
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    19,392

    Default

    The impact should be almost negligible. Not enough to warrant disconnecting it. I've been running multiple monitors for a week now and I haven't even noticed any difference.

    I have to warn you though, Windows is extremely flawed in the sense that if you play a fullscreen game/movie on your main monitor and click somewhere on your second monitor, the game/movie will lose focus. This means games will be minimized and movies will lose their fullscreen status and become windowed. So you won't be able to browse the web while gaming without minimizing the game, in which case you might as well ditch the second monitor and just alt+tab out of the game.

    I haven't found a way to fix this yet, if anyone knows I'd be happy to hear. Windows 8 may or may not solve the problem, but I'm not using a silly pre-beta OS.
    Last edited by Viluin; 10-28-2011 at 22:42.

  6. #6
    2000+
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viluin View Post
    The impact should be almost negligible. Not enough to warrant disconnecting it. I've been running multiple monitors for a week now and I haven't even noticed any difference.

    I have to warn you though, Windows is extremely flawed in the sense that if you play a fullscreen game/movie on your main monitor and click somewhere on your second monitor, the game/movie will lose focus. This means games will be minimized and movies will lose their fullscreen status and become windowed. So you won't be able to browse the web while gaming without minimizing the game, in which case you might as well ditch the second monitor and just alt+tab out of the game.

    I haven't found a way to fix this yet, if anyone knows I'd be happy to hear. Windows 8 may or may not solve the problem, but I'm not using a silly pre-beta OS.
    Windowed mode without titlebar, works like a charm.

    muddymess

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,414

    Default

    No difference at all here. Radeon 5870 - i7 920 @ 3.6 - 6 gb ram.

    And no problem either with clicking on second monitor and losing focus to it.
    Last edited by Bissen; 10-29-2011 at 10:01.

  8. #8
    1000+
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,103

    Default

    It has to decrease performance
    More pixels to draw costs something. They don't appear magically on the second monitor.
    2012: AV creates classes
    2013: Forums agree: 3 out of 4 classes are op

  9. #9
    3000+
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Annemasse, France
    Posts
    3,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ghias View Post
    It has to decrease performance
    More pixels to draw costs something. They don't appear magically on the second monitor.
    Yes, that's more or less what drove me to unplug my second one until I change my rig.
    Wich, by the way is :
    dual core 2.2 ghz
    Geforce gtx 260
    2 x 2 Giga RAM DDR3
    And, well, not to say the difference was obvious, but it still work better - it seems.
    :3
    STYRR CHIPATAMA
    [PWNOGRAPHY]

    France's finest


  10. #10
    19,000+
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    19,392

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by muddymess View Post
    Windowed mode without titlebar, works like a charm.
    Hmm, not many games support that though.

  11. #11

    Default

    It makes your video card run a lot hotter to have 2 monitors going through it. If you want max performance for games, unplug it.
    Astinus Darksoul - Scourge

    Anti-Grind Coalition
    http://forums.darkfallonline.com/group.php?groupid=109
    Save Darkfalls population today.

  12. #12
    19,000+
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    19,392

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZeroCool View Post
    It makes your video card run a lot hotter to have 2 monitors going through it. If you want max performance for games, unplug it.
    Lol, no it doesn't.

  13. #13
    2000+
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viluin View Post
    Hmm, not many games support that though.
    You can set the titlebar off with an ahk script for example.

    muddymess

  14. #14
    Normal User Effeh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    523

    Default

    /*
    Borderless window script. Press Ctrl+Alt+P when a window is active to make it a fullscreen borderless window. (1920 * 1080)
    */

    ^!p::
    WinSet, Style, -0xC00000, a
    WinMove, a, , 0, 0, 1920, 1080
    return
    That's an autohotkey script I use to get some games and programs to work in a "maximized window" so that you can click off. Won't work on everything. Gotta adjust your res obviously. Hotkey is ctrl+alt+P
    Last edited by Effeh; 10-30-2011 at 19:30.

  15. #15
    2000+
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,303

    Default

    ;-Caption
    LWIN & LButton::
    SetTitleMatchMode, 2
    WinGetPos, X, Y, Width, Height, A
    WinSet, Style, -0xC00000, A
    WinMove,A,,0,0,1920,1080
    return
    ;

    ;+Caption
    LWIN & RButton::
    WinSet, Style, +0xC00000, A
    WinMove,A,,%X%,%Y%,%Width%,%Height%
    Sleep, 1000
    Sleep, 1000
    return
    ;
    windows button + left/right mouse to toggle title. Doesn't resize your window.

    muddymess

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •