Page 1 of 6 12 ... LastLast
    1000+

Default My first programming language; what should I learn?

I want to become hooked up with coding, but I'm bad at it. I can't program anything worthwhile.

I have no real programming experience; my only coding experience has been with some dos shell scripts and those graphing calculator proprietary programming languages that are kinda like BASIC. HTML too if it counts.

A person would tell me to start with something like VisualBasic or Java or C++ or C or Assembly (lol) or Perl or Ruby or Python or whatever, and then I get flamed and called a retard by someone else who tells me to start learning with another 'real' language, like Lisp or C# or Fortran or Pascal or whatever. I don't even know the real difference between any of them (except that assembly is 'low level' or something).

Can anyone sort me out with all the different languages? What do they mean, and which one should I learn first? I have a feeling either C++, Java, VBasic, or Python would be okay, but I want someone who knows this shit to help me so I don't fuck up my intuition and end up being a horrible programmer.
    Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?

http://learnpythonthehardway.org/

The most important step is finding something interesting to program.
    Spoiler

5000+

Quote Originally Posted by CuriousGeorge View Post
    http://learnpythonthehardway.org/

How high is the stepping in point for this book? Because I assume this is not written for starters.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tasos View Post
    I've never lifted in my life but I'll go and see how much I can bench and let you guys know.

1000+

This.
    You don't learn a language and declare king of the world. You take the language that is best for the task you wish to acomplish. If you dont know what you want to do with it there is no point to learn it.

Generally: