PDA

View Full Version : Worth buying now?

jjjggg50
01-28-2012, 16:29
I'm an Eve Online veteran (started in 2003) and I recently got banned for some nasty stuff. I can't find another MMO which offers the same sort of depth and player-driven experience. I like the sound of Darkfall (it is one sexy feature list), however I have two main questions before I buy:

1) I am in the EU - if I buy an account on the EU server, what will the population be like?

2) How complex is the current political system between player-run clans?

screw loose
01-28-2012, 19:28
The EU server population is very bad. Lots of EU players are on the NA server (still pretty decent ping).

Politics is a major part of the game. To the average player it isn't seen but between clan leaders it is. One of my favorite aspects of this game is the politics between major clans.

Is it worth buying now? It depends on your patience. In development is their 2nd version of the game. It will be better. However, the game is still fun in its current state. The population is not ideal but not dead either (lots of people waiting for DF2). I think it's a good idea to get in game now and learn how things work.

tk123
01-28-2012, 19:37
Most certainly not, you will have to grind thousands of hours, literally thousands and spend years just to get an equal character with vets.

You will be grinding for years just to hopefully have some fun one day, In a dying game with a big threat of a wipe.

bobii
01-28-2012, 19:43
You will be grinding for years just to hopefully have some fun one day, In a dying game with a big threat of a wipe.

Depends on the gameplay style, but yes, before DF2 the magic grind is huge if you want everything.

The only "wipe" in DF2 will be some removed and/or changed skills and spells, but also adding new ones. (surely not going to wipe my gems worth millions)

If you buy "DF1", you won't have to pay again to play "DF2", its just another "free expansion" anyway.