PDA

View Full Version : Do you have a Masters Degree?

clobster
02-18-2009, 02:22
I'm currently working on a B.A. in Law and Justice, and I'm wondering if getting a Masters is even worthwhile. I plan on becoming a police officer, and right now all I know it'll do for me is give me a small raise (most departments give a bonus for having a degree: 2% for AA, 4-6% for a Bachelors, and 8-12% for a Masters).

I also wonder if getting a Masters is even interesting. Are classes in your field for a Masters actually appealing, or just some hurdle to get over so you can say, "Yeah, I have a Masters."

Salardc
02-18-2009, 02:25
I'm currently working on a B.A. in Law and Justice, and I'm wondering if getting a Masters is even worthwhile. I plan on becoming a police officer, and right now all I know it'll do for me is give me a small raise (most departments give a bonus for having a degree: 2% for AA, 4-6% for a Bachelors, and 8-12% for a Masters).

I also wonder if getting a Masters is even interesting. Are classes in your field for a Masters actually appealing, or just some hurdle to get over so you can say, "Yeah, I have a Masters."

Getting your masters will set you apart from the rest of the applicants in any job, give you a much higher pay scale/ tier and make you a much more believable person in the field you are studying.

I have a doctorate and it was tuff but it made all the difference..

And Im still going to school while I work to keep current

Do it for yourself its worth the work and extra money - you will thank yourself for doing it!

Salardc
plus later you can make detective!!!

Hitom
A Master whatnow? :confused:

alfaroverall
02-18-2009, 02:26
Getting your masters will set you apart from the rest of the applicants in any job, give you a much higher pay scale/ tier and make you a much more believable person in the field you are studying.

I have a doctorate and it was tuff but it made all the difference..